Illegal Contact – ARC Review

34346381

Release Date: August 15th, 2017

Series: The Barons (book #1)

BLURB: The rules of the game don’t apply off the field in this first Barons novel. 
New York Barons tight end Gavin Brawley is suspended from the team and on house arrest after a video of him brawling goes viral. Gavin already has a reputation as a jerk with a temper on and off the field—which doesn’t help him once he finds himself on the wrong side of the law. And while he’s been successful professionally, he’s never been lucky when it comes to love.

Noah Monroe is a recent college grad looking for a job—any job—to pay off his mounting student debt. Working as Gavin’s personal assistant/babysitter seems like easy money. But Noah isn’t prepared for the electrifying tension between him and the football player. He’s not sure if he’d rather argue with Gavin or tackle him to the floor. But both men know the score, and neither is sure what will happen once Gavin’s timeout is over…

 

REVIEW

The warmth in my chest and butterflies in my gut made it plain
as day that my miserable ass really fucking liked him. In the hand-holding kind of way, not just the ass-pounding
way. Although I wanted to do that too.

The hype surrounding this book is so great and I was lucky to get an ARC so my expectations were high for this one. As per usual Santino didn’t disappoint!! This one has also been heralded as Santino’s most romantic book and YA”LL!! NO LIES DETECTED!

tumblr_inline_o87ottXwvw1qjp1my_500

Reading this book just made me so happy. No lie. I found myself grinning, cackling, awwing like a weirdo while reading and I was just having fun right through, flipping pages so fast to see what came next, but alsooo drawing out my reading over a few days cuz I didn’t want it to end ^_^

Gavin is such a grumpy, prickly marshmallow and I love him. This picture shall represent his range of emotions since meeting Noah as all in this bowl right here 😉

marshmallow_friends_by_scribblepaper

Noah is this loud mouth nerd who’s also sweet and of course you know I love how Santino alwaaaaays makes me fall hard for his secondary characters too.

No exception here because heyyy Simeon heyyy (book 2’s cover was just revealed and my word!! I need it now because it’s Simeon’s book) and the little side relationship with Noah’s bestie Jasmine and Gavin’s friend Marcus was too cute!

I know nothing really of American football but that wasn’t a problem because I was able to follow along with the football stuff easy enough and it didn’t overshadow the unfolding story at all.

My favourite scene has to be the scrimmage Noah set up at Gavin’s house, this dude got G’s friends over ( he can’t leave because he’s under house arrest) with food and everything and that in itself was sweet but the real melting my heart into a puddle of goo moment was Gavin’s reaction to what Noah had set up. Gavin’s crushing hard and it was just…sigh…so adorable. This big dude, so gone over Noah.

511ef27ecb4ce2af5b7a73760c6275fbabe92d3d_hq

 

Simeon’s story is next and I’m soooo readyyyy.

Also hoping a certain adorable bookworm mechanic (Case) gets a story too! 🙂

RATING: Palm Tree on Samsung Palm Tree on Samsung Palm Tree on Samsung Palm Tree on Samsung Palm Tree on Samsung

 

Pre-order links

Penguin Random House
Barnes & Noble
Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

